1ef6fce9a595b602293ab8e1f3d3be63


US taxpayers such as a Taiwanese who has a green card or US citizenship or as a foreign resident who has been on weighted average for 183 days in the past three consecutive years staying in the US, what should they do if they do not file for the form of the Report of Foreign Bank and Financial Accounts (FBAR)?

Our professional accountants have been receiving a lot of related telephone calls. Taxpayers should decide how to respond as soon as possible. We do not deny that some cases of taxpayers should not be taken lightly.

A person holding a green card or US citizenship, as long as each year his or her bank account balance in the financial institutions outside the US, including insurance policy, stock mutual funds, cash, etc., has ever had more than USD10,000, according to the regulations of the US, he or she must file for the Report of Foreign Bank and Financial Accounts (FBAR). Otherwise, if the US Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has found him or her to have intentionally concealed the assets, he or she may incur a huge fine or even a prison disaster upon him- or herself.

The US government has become more active in monitoring overseas accounts. US taxpayers such as Taiwanese who have green cards, US citizenship, or foreign residents who have been on weighted average for 183 days in the past three consecutive years staying in the US, must honestly declare US offshore financial assets. If intentionally concealing the assets, the maximum penalty will be the equivalent of 50% of the value of the undeclared financial accounts or a civil liability as high as USD100,000. If it is overdue without declaration, there will also be penalty, punishable up to USD500,000 and up to ten years in prison.

US citizens, US green-card holders, or those who meet the criteria of US taxpayers, as long as they own or may dispose of foreign financial accounts at any point of the year, which total more than USD10,000, before June 30 each year, they all must file the FBAR form to the US Treasury Department.

For the filing of the FBAR form, except some exceptions, the offshore financial accounts of companies or legal persons which have been authorized to be signed and used by the filing individuals, the offshore financial assets of which must also be declared.

I. Who is required to disclose the specific financial assets of foreign bank accounts?

  • If the United States person has a financial interest in any foreign financial account or has the right to sign, and the total value of the account has ever exceeded USD10,000 at any time within a year, the account must file for the FBAR.

II. The definition of the United States person.

  • The United States person refers to a US citizen or resident; various organizations established in the US or in accordance with the US laws and regulations, including but not limited to corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, as well as trusts and estates set up in accordance with the US laws and regulations.

III. I have been legally reporting all taxable incomes and paid taxes on a regular basis, but I have recently heard that I have to declare my FBAR report for the past few years for my overseas private bank account or declare for the bank account of a non-US employer for which I have the right to sign. Can I come forward to make up for the negligence in accordance with the Offshore Voluntary Disclosure Program?

  • The purpose of the Offshore Voluntary Disclosure Program is to provide a way for taxpayers who have previously used overseas financial accounts and offshore companies to evade taxes to allow them to voluntarily come forward to solve the tax problem. Therefore, if all taxable incomes are factually declared and paid, but only FBAR has not be declared, do not use the Offshore Voluntary Disclosure Program.

    The instructions should be followed that if before the taxpayer is being spot checked, the Delinquent FBAR is submitted with explanation on why such a report is submitted late to the US Department of Treasury (Department of Treasury, Post Office Box 32621, MI 48232-0621), while there is no short filing of tax, IRS will not make a penalty.

    Because tax law violators are numerous, for different situations, the choices IRS provides taxpayers are based on whether there is timely declaration, whether tax is paid on a regular basis, whether there has been tax evasion, whether there is disclosure of dishonest matters, whether the unpaid tax is small or no tax, etc. IRS makes a choice according to the severity of the scenario. So, there are other options besides the Offshore Voluntary Disclosure Program.

IV. What kind of exchange rate should be used when deciding the maximum annual value of each undeclared foreign account or the maximum annual asset value of an undeclared foreign entity?

  • The foreign currency is mainly calculated according to the yearend exchange rate of the chosen year at www.fiscal.treasury.gov . If the country in which the account is used adopts multiple exchange rates, use the yearend exchange rate of the chosen year at which the currency in the account is converted into the US dollar. The value of each account must be separately calculated

V. For example: I moved to the US in 2007 and am now a permanent resident taxpayer of the US. One year I must declare FBAR, but did not do so. Will this taxpayer be fined 27.5% of the total value of the account?

  • Generally speaking, in the Offshore Voluntary Disclosure Program, according to the severity of the scenarios and different objective conditions, for taxpayers who do not declare for the overseas financial accounts, a fine of 27.5%, 12.5% or 5% of the total value of the account may be imposed respectively, which is decided by the IRS.

    A taxpayer, if violating the relevant provisions of the tax laws, but the relevant facts are only that one year of FBAR was not declared, but usually taxes are filed according to rules, and there is no intention to evade taxes, upon the assistance of professionals' analysis, may neither need to nor be qualified to participate in the Offshore Voluntary Disclosure Program. In general, taxpayers must apply to IRS first. Only after IRS has approved the application that they can apply for the Offshore Voluntary Disclosure Program.

VI. Is giving up the green card or US citizenship feasible?

  • The new tax law of "expatriation tax" passed on June 16, 2008, specifies that taxpayers on the day before the expatriation, if meeting the specific requirements, must liquidate the global total assets. Just by giving up the green card or US citizenship is not enough to close the matter.

    Before the new law came into effect, voluntary green-card or US citizenship expatriates, within ten years after the expatriation, if staying in the US equal or exceeding the number of days specified and meeting the specific requirements, they are still required to declare income tax. Although the new tax law abolishes this requirement, it requires that those who expatriated after June 16, 2008, complying with the specific regulations, in the case of being covered expatriates, to register and list the market value of the global assets in Form 8854. Most categories of the assets, assuming that they are all sold at the market price the day before the expatriation, taking into consideration the relevant exemptions as the basis for filing tax, the tax calculated from this specification is the so-called expatriation tax.

    During the expatriation, if the taxpayer's net assets are over USD2 million, or the tax payable over the past five years on average is more than USD157,000 (the 2014 threshold; adjustable as appropriate), or the tax liability and obligations have not been fulfilled over the past five years, unless specified in other exceptional exclusion clauses, the taxpayer is the covered expatriate. We recommend US citizens and holders of green card, before the expatriation, to consult with professionals as early as possible, in order to effectively reduce the impact to successfully complete the expatriation.

For business consultation, please contact us

Subscribe

f31edfbfd7c10dd6f6a683da9c5dc34b

肥爸條款申報(FBAR 海外金融帳戶)

Report of Foreign Bank and Financial Accounts (FBAR)



台灣人擁有綠卡、美國國籍或過去連續三年度加權平均有待滿183天的外國人等美國稅務居民,若沒有申報「海外金融帳戶表格(FBAR)」,該怎麼辦?

會計師連日來收到不少相關洽詢電話,納稅人應即早決定如何因應,也不諱言有某些情況的納稅人不應掉以輕心。

持有綠卡或美國籍,只要每年在美國境外金融機構,包括保單、股票共同基金、現金等的銀行帳戶餘額曾超過1萬美元,按美國規定必須申報「海外金融帳戶表格(FBAR)」,否則被美國國稅局查獲證明有故意隱匿情事,可能招惹巨額罰款上身,甚至有牢獄之災。

美國政府監控海外帳戶態度轉趨積極,台灣人擁有綠卡、美國國籍或過去連續三年度加權平均有待滿183天的外國人等美國稅務居民,必須誠實申報美國境外金融資產,若意圖故意隱匿,最高將被處罰相當於未申報金融帳戶價值50%罰金或10萬美元之孰高的民事責任。如果逾期不申報還會有「刑罰」,處以最高50萬美元及最多十年的有期徒刑。

美國公民、領有美國綠卡,或是符合美國稅務居民身分者,只要是「擁有」或「可支配」的美國境外金融帳戶,在年度中任一時點,金額總計超過1萬美元,在每年6月30日前,都要向美國財政部申報FBAR表格。

申報FBAR表格,除了某些例外狀況外,個人被授權可簽名動用的公司、法人的境外金融帳戶,也要申報該公司、法人的境外金融資產。

一、哪些人須揭露在國外銀行帳戶的特定金融資產(FBAR)?

  • 美國人(United States person)如在任何外國金融帳戶擁有財務利益,或擁有簽字權,而帳戶在一年內的任何時候總值曾超過1萬元,就必須申報FBAR。

二、美國人的定義。

  • 「美國人」是指美國公民或居民;設立於美國或根據美國法例成立的各種組織,包括但不限於股份有限公司(Corporations)、合夥組織(Partnerships)、有限責任公司(Limited Liability Companies),還有根據美國法例成立的信託(Trust)及託管遺產(Estate)。

三、我一直依法申報所有應稅所得,也按期支付稅金,但最近才聽說我必須為我在國外的私人銀行帳戶申報過去幾年的FBAR報告,或申報我擁有簽字權的非美國人雇主的銀行帳戶。我能否根據「自願公開辦法」出面補救疏失?

  • 「自願公開辦法」(Offshore Voluntary Disclosure Program)的用意,在為以前有使用海外金融帳戶及境外公司來逃漏稅捐的納稅人提供一條出路,讓他們自願出面解決稅務問題。因此,如果據實申報所有應稅所得和繳稅,只是沒有申報FBAR,不要利用「自願公開辦法」。

    應該根據指示,若納稅義務人在被抽查前,提出「逾期申報的FBAR(Delinquent FBAR),並附上說明,解釋何以逾期提出這種報告,寄到財政部(Department of Treasury, Post Office Box 32621, Detroit, MI 48232-0621),同時也無低報稅金情事,國稅局不會因此祭出罰則。

    因違反稅法者眾,針對不同情況,美國 IRS 提供納稅義務人選擇,是根據是否有按時申報,是否有如期繳稅,是否曾有逃漏稅、揭露不實的情事,欠繳稅金是否屬小額或無稅金等,依情節輕重,做出抉擇,故除了自願公開辦法,也有其他的選擇。

四、在決定每個沒有申報的外國帳戶每年的最高總值,或是有未申報的外國實體每年的最高資產價值時,應採用何種匯率?

  • 主要根據www.fiscal.treasury.gov/當年底的匯率換算外國貨幣。如帳戶所在國採用多重匯率,採用當年底把帳戶裡的貨幣轉換成美元所適用的匯率。每個帳戶必須分別計算價值。

五、舉例:我於2007年搬到美國定居,現為美國永久居民的納稅人,有一年必須申報FBAR,可是沒有這樣做。這個納稅人是否會受到帳戶總值27.5%的罰款?

  • 一般來說,自願公開辦法中,依情節輕重及客觀條件的不同,對無申報海外金融帳戶的納稅義務人,分別可能施以帳戶總值27.5%、12.5%或5%的罰款,由美國IRS定奪。

    納稅義務人,若違反稅法相關的規定,相關事實只有某一年度的FBAR沒有申報,平常皆有按規定申報納稅,且無蓄意逃漏稅捐等,可經過專業人士協助分析,可能並不需也無資格參加自願公開辦法。通常,納稅義務人必須向IRS提出申請,申請通過才可以參加自願公開辦法。

六、放棄綠卡、國籍可行嗎?

  • 2008年6月16日通過的「棄籍稅」新稅法,讓納稅人在放棄國籍的前一天,符合特定之要件,須清算全球總資產,並非放棄綠卡、國籍即可了事。

    新法生效前,自動放棄綠卡或國籍者,在放棄後的十年內若待滿規定天數及符合要件仍須申報所得稅。新稅法雖取消這項規定,但要求在2008年6月16日之後棄籍者,符合特定規定,若為被選定的棄籍者(covered expatriate),須在Form8854中,登記及列示全球財產市值,大多數類別的資產,假定在棄籍前一天以市價全數變賣,考量相關免稅額後,做為報稅依據,俗稱棄籍稅。

    棄籍時,如果納稅人淨資產超過200萬美元,或過去五年應繳稅金平均超過15萬7000美元(2014年門檻,會視情況調整)或在過去五年沒有盡到納稅責任與義務,除了其他例外排除條款外,即為被選定的棄籍者。建議具美國公民身份及持有綠卡者,在棄籍前,應即早洽詢專業人員,才能有效減輕衝擊,順利完成棄籍。

如需業務諮詢,歡迎聯繫我們